Connecticut Swimming

Volunteer Recognition


From the club level to the Board of Directors, Connecticut Swimming depends on volunteers. Swimming probably requires more parent volunteers and volunteer time than any other sport; but what better sport is there?

CSI is indeed grateful for the many who have volunteered countless hours for our organization. Each volunteer's efforts are truly appreciated!

Volunteers are needed at all levels within CSI, from your swimmer's club to CSI committees. Often the skills you use everyday at home or in the office can be carried over to swimming. We are an extremely diverse organization with many opportunities. Volunteering opens doors and the rewards are endless!

Please contact Nan Cooper at with any questions or if you are interested in volunteering. Nan can provide you with more detailed information and contacts.

Remember not all volunteer work is done at swim meets or committee meetings. Valuable contributions can be made from your home. Every contribution is important.

CSI thanks all its dedicated volunteers!


CSI is looking for an Awards Chair/Coordinator to handle championship meet and banquet awards. This volunteer position involves close work with award vendor(s), championship meet directors, banquet coordinators, and office staff.  Responsibilities include ordering awards, inventory of championship awards, and award design and selection. Travel to Age Group Championship location is required. If desired, an Awards Committee may be formed. For more information please contact Sue Husta, Awards Chair or

Phillips Service Awardees

Each year CSI has the opportunity to select a recipient for the USA Swimming Outstanding Service Award. This award, sponsored by ConocoPhillips, is presented to a volunteer in each Local Swim Committee (LSC) in recognition of service to swimming. Recipients of the Outstanding Service Award are selected by the LSC and receive the award and an Outstanding Service Award pin from USA Swimming.

2023 - Yolanda Jahan  
2022 - Jo Ann McCaffery  
2021 -   
2020 - Rick LaFrenierre 1999 - Leanne Spletzer
2019 - Nancy Wargo 1998 - Mike Close
2018 - Jen Lyman/Suzannah Rogers 1997 - Pat Griffis
2017 - Dave Pite 1996 - Mary Lynch
2016 - Barbara Weiderecht 1995 - None
2015 - Dave Reilly 1994 - Jim Cooper
2014 - Jeffrey Gray 1993 - Judy Snow
2013 - Ed Becker and Sue Husta 1992 - Margaret Donofrio
2012 - Randy Larocca 1991 - Barbara Ehmer
2011 - Mike Huffman 1990 - Frank Keefe
2010 - Judy Snow 1989 - None
2009 - Pam Libertiny 1988 - Geraldine Zwicker
2008 - Barry Silver 1987 - Nancy Martin
2007 - Steve Carroll 1986 - Bernard Stevenson
2006 - Susan Lecza 1985 - Herbert Aas
2005 - Ed Doernberger 1984 - Robert Johnson
2004 - Bill Repass 1983 - Dorothy Donnelly
2003 - Bonnie Fisher 1982 - Robert Issacs
2002 - Larry Frost 1981 - Betty Philcox
2001 - Jim Cooper  
2000 - Mary Anne Condon