Connecticut Swimming

2017 Annual Awards Banquet Highlights

The 2017 Annual Awards Banquet was held Sunday, November 5, 2017, at the Aqua Turf Club in Plantsville, CT. For this event Connecticut Swimming comes together to celebrate the athletes, coaches, and volunteers whose exceptional accomplishments have stood out over the 2016-2017 season. This year the Banquet Chairs organized a panel of CSI swimmers that was both motivational and engaging.  The panel was made up of CSI swimmers who (1) attended a USA Swimming National or International meet this past season (Worlds/Nationals/Jr Nationals) and, (2) RSVP'd that they would be attending the banquet:  Kieran Smith, AJ Bernstein, Liz Boyer, Miku Takabayashi and Meghan Lynch.  Coach Nick Cavataro moderated as each of the 5 spoke for a few minutes, and then answered some questions. Discussion centered around what it is like to train, travel, prepare, and race at high level meets; how they stay focused on their goals; and some of the challenges they have faced.

USA Swimming Phillips 66 Outstanding Service Award: The Outstanding Service Award was established in 1981 to recognize volunteers for their invaluable contribution to USA Swimming. The award, sponsored by Phillips 66, is presented annually to an honoree named by each of the 59 Local Swimming Committees (LSC). Selected by the CSI Board of Directors, this year's recipient was Dave Pite.  Dave has served as a USA Swimming Official for over 11 years and referees numerous meets annually. In addition to serving on the pool deck, he leads the Officials Club Visitation Program where he introduces young swimmers, in advance of meets, to officiating in a safe and comfortable environment—the club’s home pool.

Coach of the Year: CSI coaches honor their peers with the Coach of the Year Age Group and Senior awards. Coaches are nominated and elected by coaches at the conclusion of the long course season. This year's honorees are Emmanuel Lanzó, RAC, Senior Coach of the Year and Gordon Brown, RYWC, Bill Krumm Age Group Coach of the Year.

Kieran Smith
Kieran Smith and Coach Emmanuel Lanzó


Swimmer of the YearKieran Smith, RAC, and David Gelfand, WYW,
were awarded Swimmer of the Year by the Senior Committee. For the
2016-2017 season Kieran was the highest-ranked CT member of USA
Swimming and David was the highest-ranked CT member of
Paralympic Swimming.

USA Swimming Top 10 #1 Rankings: Each competitive season, USA
Swimming ranks the top 10 athletes across all 59 Local Swim
Committees (LSC). Times from USA Swimming sanctioned, approved,
or observed competition are eligible for consideration and athletes are
ranked by single age group 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, or 17. For the 2016-
2017-2017 season 2 athletes were ranked #1 by USA Swimming. They
are Meghan Lynch, 13, GYWD, 200Y Breaststroke, 200Y IM; and
Kieran Smith, 17, RAC, 400M IM, 400Y IM (Age 16); and CPAC 200M
Medley Relay Kelly Montesi, Sophia MooreAmelia Sicignano,
and Bridget Semenuk.

Other recognized achievements are listed below.

Special thanks and gratitude to Ellen Johnston, General Chair, and Banquet Coordinators Todd Gordon and Kaeley Steinnagel.